How One Girl is Going From a JC to a 4 year

 

Name: Jessica Kron

 

Age: 17

 

Year: Freshman in Junior College

 

Team:  I’m playing with saddleback college. However for the off season I am playing with Pateodores Academy

To start us off, can you explain why you decided to attend a JC in the first place?

I decided to go to a JC mainly for money reasons. Saddleback is a great JC so I decided to go there in order to save money for when I transfer to a university in the future. I had the opportunity to play soccer at different universities however most were out of state with no scholarship money from the team, since I started the recruiting process so late they had already given them out. So with a twin sister starting college at the same time I decided to save money and take the JC route. I also took it so that I can hopefully get a scholarship and play for a school I really want to go to.

Why did you graduate so early?

I started kindergarten at the age of three, which led me to graduate at 16.

Going into a JC, what were your goals and what do you hope to accomplish?

By going to a JC I hope to transfer to a university in the future along with play soccer at that school.

What steps did you take to continue the recruitment process while attending a JC? Why didn’t you join the soccer team?

Yes I am on the Soccer team at saddleback college. I make sure to work hard in order to get full playing time to insure I am seen as much as possible. Making sure I focus on school in order to be transfer ready is also a big part of playing at a JC.

How are you marketing yourself as a player at the moment? How does attending a JC factor in?

At the moment since it is off season for the saddleback team I am playing with pats in order to continue to be seen. There is no time to waste in the recruiting process as coaches quickly fill spots in advance. I am calling coaches/schools I am interested in and putting my self out there. Playing with pats and saddleback for off season training also keeps me fit as I have double the practice.

What do you want to major in, and what classes are you taking right now to help you achieve this major?

Right now I am still undecided on my major so I am just taking all of my general ed classes and just making sure I will be ready to transfer when the time comes.

What advice do you have for student athletes who are deciding to attend a JC before going to a 4 year?

My advice for a student athlete is to remember that being a student always comes before being an athlete and no matter how good you are coaches can only do so much when it comes to getting you into the school. Your grades have to match up with your performance on the field. Being at a JC will go quicker than you think so don’t waste your time! Also keep calling and contacting coaches, because yes it’s possible for coaches to reach out to you, but if you really want something you need to put it on yourself to make sure you get it done. It’s your future not anyone else’s.

 

Interviewer: Zoe Clevely

Leave a comment